Our Mission

With the motto of “Assistance Without Delay” and a creed of “100% for Charity”, the Old Newsboys are driven by a straight-forward, yet important mission: “No Child Shall Miss School for Lack of Shoes or Coat”. Our goal has been the same since our founding in 1929: “Immediate Emergency Service When a School Administrator, Police Officer, Fire Official, or Neighbor Reports a Child in Need”. The Old Newsboys is not a substitute for public welfare or other various social agencies, and does not undertake continuing clients. Instead, it functions without administrative delay to afford speedy, temporary service.

Aiding Our Community

The Old Newsboys provide aid and relief to the financially disadvantaged of Northwest Ohio through:

  • Distribution of new clothing and shoes to needy children via vouchers distributed by school administrators, policemen, firemen, and neighbors.
  • Donations to other local charitable organizations that also provide assistance to needy kids.
  • Delivery of food baskets to needy families, throughout the year and especially during holiday seasons.
  • Awarding 8 college scholarships each year to high school seniors who would otherwise not have an opportunity to further their education.

Hundreds of thous ands of dollars are spent each year for these worthy programs. Distribution is made without regard to race or creed. The only criteria is being in need.

Visit our Facebook page to learn the latest about our team at work.

A Proud History

The Old Newsboys is an organization of over 600 active and life members. We have been devoted to helping needy kids in the Toledo area since 1929. Our members come from all walks of life. Our common bond of fellowship is compassion for children suffering from poverty and neglect. You don’t have to be old, have had newspaper route, or be a boy to join us.

“Newsies” raise 100% of their own funds by hawking an annual Charity Edition Newspaper each December. We sell our newspapers on area street corners and in local businesses, banks, malls, and any place that will have us. 100% of what we collect goes to help local kids.

We are very proud of our history, and invite you to help us continue our work, by donating both your time and your money.

Our Leadership


  • President: Luke Harman
  • 1st Vice President: Rachel Doran
  • 2nd Vice President: John Pezzino
  • 3rd Vice President:
  • 4th Vice President: Jim Pool
  • Secretary: Sharon Dickerson
  • Treasurer: Jeff Ogg
  • Executive Secretary:
  • Sergeant at Arms: 
  • Historian: Bob Wuest
  • Chaplain: Pat Markl and

2016-2017 Chairmen

  • Annual Banquet: Tracey Edwards
  • Appreciation Party: Tim Reny
  • Drug Awareness: Bill Sanford
  • Finance: Jeff Ogg, Jim Melms, Tracey Edwards
  • Golf Classic: Tim Reny
  • Good & Welfare: Stan Czerminski
  • Membership: Greg Loeb, Pat Markl and, John Pezzino
  • Paper Sale: Rachel Doran
  • Photographer: Stan Czerminski
  • Policy Chairman: Emilio Ramirez
  • Relief: Jack Renz
  • Scholarship: Ron Shnider
  • Sports: Dave Hendricks


Past Presidents 1929-2017

*Frank S. Newell

*L. Jay Gifford

*Ray Kest

*Judge Harvey Straub

*Gerald Cullen

*Joe Gallon

*L andon E. Hall

*Chief Roy Davis

*Rev. H.L. Davis *Worth Clegg

*Virgil E. Cramer

*J. Paul Utz

*Isadore Odesky

*Lloyd E. Roulet

*Ralph Hoover *C.E.Veller

*Ray Bassler

*Phil Henning

*Warren W. Clegg

*Bill Strong

*A.F. Papenhagen

*K. VanWormer

*Arthur Gluntz

*Judge Frank Wiley

*Frank G. Pauly

*Sidney G. Douglas *Al Shnider

*Al Boerger

*Homer Hanham

*Judge Willis Ludeman

*Howard W. Adkins

*Kim Boyd


*Andy Mulligan

*Frank C. Justen

*Sol Wittenberg

*Eulan G. Tucker

Tom Weisenburger

*Keno Hat eld

*Elmer V. Scallish

*John McHugh

Dave Langendorfer

*Alfred Samborn

*Richard Buchholz

*William G. Herzing

*Jack Renz

*James S. Rabbit

*Sam Epstein

Ron Shnider

*Bob St andriff

Bob Wuest

John Ludeman

*Phil Zimmerman

Bob Zimmerman

*Jay Shuer

Gary Wolniewicz

Jim Bishop

David J. Williams

Tim Reny

Linda Costell

Gil Cline

John Tharp

Ron Navarro

*J. “Boxy” Boxenbaum

Jerry Baum

Gary Wyse

Jack D. Renz

Stan Czerminski

Bill Sanford

Mike Bell

Laurie Renz-Gast

Pat Markl and

Jay Gast

Greg Loeb

David Hendricks

John Mattimoe

Tracey Edwards

Emilio Ramirez

Jeff Ogg